Love Yourself

How you love yourself is how you teach others to love you.

-Rupi Kaur

I’m on Facebook fairly often. I cannot help myself when it comes to comment threads; I have to read them. What I read can be at times funny, positive, and uplifting. The majority of comments, however, are skeptical at best, cynical at worst. The levels of anger, fear, bitterness, outright hatred, bias, prejudice, and just plain ignorance seem to be increasing.

I look at all of that negativity and can’t help but wonder about the person behind the comment — what caused them to spit out such vitriol. I wonder what their lives are like. I know that it’s easy to turn into someone else online versus in real life, but I also believe that the worst offenders online tend to act/speak the same way in their day-to-day lives. I don’t think it’s a case of someone “just having a bad day.”

The point I’m trying to make, I guess, is that if you don’t love yourself, you’re probably going to have trouble loving your fellow man, both in reality and online.

One thought on “Love Yourself

Leave a Reply

