A nice thought, but…

This morning, my pastor had a good sermon about Peter, Jonah, and the issues of doubting our faith, questioning God or running away from him when times get tough or when He asks us to do things we’d rather not do. He mentioned a phrase that I’ve heard on a number of occasions in my lifetime, something I had never really taken a fresh look at until this morning.

God never gives you more than you can handle.

My pastor basically called that phrase a total lie. And he’s right! If God never gave you more than you could handle, you wouldn’t need God! On our own, we cannot handle life. We may try to control things, and for a while it may look like we’re succeeding, but most times we fail miserably!

I know this firsthand, because I am a complete control freak who has a tendency to distance myself from my faith when things are seemingly going fine. I fall into the trap of coming to God only when things start to go in the crapper. This is something I’ve struggled with for years.

Peter loved Jesus and loved God, but when Christ needed his support the most, Peter ran away from his faith and denied his Lord three times. Jonah believed as well, but freaked out when God asked him to go to Ninevah. We believe, but we don’t want to have to go too far out on a limb for our faith.

I would hope that, if I were to feel the Holy Spirit leading me in a new and maybe scary direction in my life, that I would at least slow down, swallow my pride, and listen. God has my best interests at heart – I need to remember that!

Leave a Reply

